The fish is a symbol of fertility, abundance for the large number of eggs it produces, sexuality, coldness, indifference and stupidity.

This species is placed at the foot of the world tree, and is opposed to birds. In many traditions it represents cosmic forces, for example, according to Japanese mythology, the earth is a giant fish that lives in the water of the sea.
In other traditions, the fish carries the sun at night, and puts it into the sea. The fish can be interpreted as an image of the life-giving power, water of fertility. On the other hand, water is a symbol of decay, destruction of forms, and in this environment, the fish is a hero and a chthonic character, the image of those who live in the underworld.

In China and India it is a symbol of a new birth, and was also used during the funeral rites. In the Jewish tradition, the fish is a symbol of the Messiah (denoted by the same word). In Christianity, the fish is a symbol of Christ, and the word "ihtis" is an acronym for "Jesus Christ, Son of God, Savior."

It also symbolizes faith, purity, and the Virgin Mary.

During the Middle Ages, the fish has become a symbol of the spiritual essence, which is hidden under the veil of the visible things. In the alchemical tradition, the fish is interpreted as a symbol of mystical rebirth. Sometimes the fish has also the phallic characteristics. In the eastern Slavic folklore, there is a story which tells about the childless king, who listened to the advice of older wise people, fishing the "Golden Fish", which was divided into three parts: one part for the Queen, another for the cook and the third for the dog, and they together give birth to heroes.

The fish, as a Christian symbol is known in Greece and Normandy. On a tombstone, in one of the Roman catacombs there were carved two fish that held the anchor; it is a sign of firmness of faith in Christ. The image of the fish is associated with Christ as a precursor of the Piscean Age. In Celtic mythology the salmon is associated with the prophecies and inspiration for its ability to find the place from where it was generated. The fish is a symbol of wealth and wisdom. St. Luke foresaw that St. Peter was a fisher of souls. Being swallowed by the whale, as in the case of Jonah, means to pass the exam and initiation. In Buddhism, the symbolism of the fish identifies freedom of desires and addictions.



The peacock - In Indian mythology, to draw its wings, reminiscent of many eyes, represents the image of a starry sky.

The spider - In ancient Indian tradition Brahma, the creator of all things, was allegorically called the spider that was spinning the web of the world.

The dove - In China, a dove is a symbol of longevity and filial piety. In the East, the dove is a symbol of love and marriage.

The tiger - The tiger is a symbol of power, strength and success, but at the same time it is a symbol of destruction, because the energy can be both creative and destructive.

The lion - In the symbolism of the elements associated with the fire, the lion represents courage, supreme power, nobility and pride.

The jaguar - Aztecs and Maya  believed that four jaguars represent the guardians of the road to peace.

The elephant - represents many qualities including: strength, royal power, dignity, patience, wisdom, longevity and happiness, as well as being a symbol of good luck.

The butterfly - is a symbol of a soul,  the fragility, the shortness of life, happiness and non-permanence.

The owl - It is a symbol of wisdom, knowledge, sensitivity, a prophetic gift, moderation, and melancholy.

The toad - In Vietnam, the toad is associated with rain, fertility, wealth, and sexuality. In Egypt, frogs were considered sacred animals.

The bear - The bear is a symbol of good will, heroic strength and clumsiness but also of malice, brutality and greed.

Pin It

Partner jooble

Partner jobsora

Articoli da consultare