Chalcedony - the symbolism of the stone

Chalcedony is a semiprecious stone. The best known varieties of chalcedony are sardonic and carnelian. Carnelian is the stone of the celestial bodies of the Sun and Venus. In antiquity carnelian is associated with magical properties. On many mummies of Egypt (including Tutankhamen) a series of carnelian amulets has been found, they protected the deceased in the afterlife.

Carnelian is a stone of the blood color, the color of life. In the East the ancients attributed to this stone a property to protect life from death and disease, to bring love and happiness. It was believed that it donated wealth and improved health and mood, calmed down anger but mostly it was a stone of happy love. In Russia, carnelian had a great popularity. It was considered a healthy stone; it brought good luck in love, contributing to the affinity. If the owner of the stone kept it in his hand at the sight of a loved one, the stone became brighter.


In the Middle Ages it was believed that this stone could defeat black magic, protect from evil, and help to avoid quarrels.

In medical terms this stone is almost universal, which creates around itself a large recreational field. It was believed that it enhanced the immune properties of the body from fever, strengthened teeth and helped in childbirth. In the form of beads, carnelian is useful in diseases of the thyroid. The ancients believed that this stone protected a love spell, helped to protect against infidelity and betrayal. Sardonic black carnelian (for men) in contact with the body helps to heal quickly from wounds and ulcers. Sardonic pale carnelian (for women) contributes to conception.



Opal - Opal is a precious stone of wisdom and friendship. Because of the colors of the rainbow this stone is venerated as a symbol of hope.

Jade - is also considered to be a stone of eternal love. A jade butterfly is a guarantee of eternal happiness in love.

Sapphire - Sapphire is a stone of fidelity, a symbol of chastity and modesty, which brings divine grace, happiness and peace.

Hyacinth - Hyacinth also has the ability to improve memory and increase the level of intelligence. Hyacinth is also considered to be a stone of sadness and pain.

The turquoise stone - It is a symbol of happy love and a happy family life.

Onyx - According to legend, in the temple of Jerusalem, the wall of Solomon had the windows that penetrated enough light, because they were made of this stone.

The ruby - is a symbol of authority and power, and in love this stone brings a burning passion.

Emerald - A great lover of emeralds was the Queen of Sheba, and the emperor Nero used special lenses made of emerald to watch the gladiators fight.

Garnet - This stone has long been considered as an amulet or a stone of lovers, a symbol of love, friendship or affection.

Topaz - In ancient times it was believed that topaz could bring luck in business, and could make someone rich.

Lapis Lazuli - is a stone of sincerity and friendship. This mineral is also called the stone of heaven.

Tourmaline - It is believed that tourmaline is a spiritual stone; it is able to develop creative abilities and protect artists from all sorts of dangers.

Chrysoberyl - gives peace and peace of mind, strengthens family relationships. It is suitable for people looking for marriage

Pin It

Partner jooble

Partner jobsora

Articoli da consultare